• Home

  • Free ebooks

  • Ebooks for sale

  • New

  • Contact


  • By authors

  • By titles

  • LEWIS CARROLL (1832-1898)

      - Alice in Wonderland

        British logician, mathematician, and novelist. An unmarried deacon and a lecturer in mathematics at Oxford, he enjoyed the company of young girls. His novel Alice's Adventures in Wonderland (1865; illustrated by J. Tenniel) is based on stories he told to amuse young friends, especially Alice Liddell. Its sequel, Through the Looking-Glass (1871), describes Alice's further adventures. The two books, full of whimsy but also of sophisticated wit and puzzles, became perhaps the most famous and admired children's books in the world. His other works include the narrative nonsense poem The Hunting of the Snark (1876) and the children's novels Sylvie and Bruno (1889) and Sylvie and Bruno Concluded (1893). He was also an important early portrait photographer.


    Home | Free ebooks | Ebooks for sale | Contact | New
    All Rights Reserved 2005. Design by Ades Design